Our Partners

Makerere University was established in 1922 as a humble technical school and is one of the oldest and most prestigious Universities in Africa. In January of that year, the school, which was later renamed Uganda Technical College, opened its doors to 14 day students who began studying Carpentry, Building and Mechanics. The College soon began offering various other courses in Medical Care, Agriculture, Veterinary Sciences and Teacher Training. It expanded over the years to become a Center for Higher Education in East Africa in 1935. The University transitioned from the Faculty-based to the collegiate system on 1st July 2011 and as of Friday 30th December 2011, Makerere University officially transformed into a Collegiate University with 9 Constituent Colleges and one School, operating as semi-autonomous units of the University.

The University of California, San Francisco, UCSF , Department of Medicine is the largest single department of the UCSF School of Medicine, with approximately 29 percent of the school's full-time faculty. For the past 30 years, it has consistently ranked among the top four departments of medicine in the country. UCSF is a recognized leader for developing superior clinicians and scientists and has developed a national reputation for excellence in residency training in primary care, general internal medicine and numerous medical subspecialties. A dedicated faculty, an outstanding blend of academic and clinical training, exposure to nationally-recognized generalists and sub specialists and a supportive environment provide residents with the opportunity to truly excel in their fields.
Links to Divisions within the Department of Medicine:
Infectious Diseases
Experimental Medicine

Uganda Malaria Surveillance Program (UMSP) was formed in 2001, as a collaboration linking academic researchers at Makerere University and University of California, San Francisco with the Uganda Ministry of Health with the purpose of creating a multi-site surveillance system for monitoring antimalarial drug efficacy and safety, monitoring malaria related morbidity and mortality, and building capacity for facility based management of malaria. UMSP collaborates with several other partners in a region-wide malaria surveillance and control effor including UC Berkeley School of Public Health, London School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, Institute of Tropical Medicine, Antwerp, Belgium, Malaria Consortium Uganda, the Infectious Disease Institute and many others. The linkage between academic researchers and policy makers facilitates use of research findings for evidence based policy decision making. One of the strengths of UMSP is the presence of an active health facility based sentinel site surveillance system involving several government health centers across the country. UMSP has conducted several trials of antimalarial treatment and the results have guided antimalarial treatment policy decisions in Africa. In 2006, UMSP expanded the scope of the sentinel site surveillance system to collect detailed and high quality data on malaria morbidity and mortality in the outpatient and inpatient setting respectively. Individual level patient data are collected using a standardized case record form for all patients who present to the sentinel site health facilities. Reports are generated in real time and disseminated to all stakeholders. UMSP has supported training of public health leaders in Uganda and built capacity for laboratory diagnosis of malaria across the country.

The Uganda Ministry of Health is mandated to ensure the attainment of a good standard of health by all people in Uganda.

Uganda Aids Commission is a Government body legally charged with coordinating the national multisectoral response against HIV/AIDS in Uganda.

Uganda National Council of Science and Technology is a semi-autonomous government agency mandated to develop and implement policies and strategies for integrating Science and Technology (S&T) into national development policies, advise Government on policy matters necessary for promoting S&T and; coordinating and guiding national research and development (R&D) in Uganda.

Mulago-Mbarara Teaching Hospitals' Joint AIDS Program (MJAP) is a collaborative partnership between Makerere University Faculty of Medicine, Mbarara University Faculty of Medicine, Mulago Hospital and Mbarara Hospital established in 2004 with an aim of providing quality HIV testing and care at Mulago and Mbarara teaching hospitals and their catchment areas. Since 2004, MJAP has provided routine testing and Counseling with funding from the US President's Emergency plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR) and Technical support from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MJAP not only provides quality HIV testing and care but also strengthens the capacity of Health facilities to offer these services through training of Health care providers, laboratory infrastructural improvement and support supervision. These services have been expanded to several regional referral hospitals namely; Jinja, Hoima, Soroti, Fortportal, Masaka, Mbale and Kabale.

Tororo Hospital is located in the Eastern Division of Tororo Municipality. Together with St. Anthony’s Hospital, the hospital provides referral services to Tororo district, parts of the districts of Manafwa, Busia and part of western Kenya. The estimated catchment population is about 500,000 persons

The AIDS Support Organization (TASO) is an indigenous HIV/AIDS service organization in Uganda. The founding of TASO was based on people that were unified by common experiences faced when encountering HIV/AIDS at a time of high stigma, ignorance and discrimination. From a small support group, TASO has since evolved into a Non Governmental Organization with eleven (11) service centers and four (4) regional offices covering most parts of Uganda.

The London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine is a leading institution worldwide for research and postgraduate education in global health. Part of the University of London, the London School is the largest institution of its kind in Europe with a remarkable depth and breadth of expertise encompassing many disciplines. It is one of the highest-rated research institutions in the UK. The environment at LSHTM is rich and multicultural: it draws students from around 120 countries every year for post-graduate studies, and is involved in research collaborations with over 100 countries throughout the world. LSHTM has three main departments, Epidemiology and Population Health, Infectious and Tropical Diseases, and Public Health and Policy; eleven school-based academic centres, including the Malaria Centre; and two international collaborating centres. LSHTM offers Masters and Research Degree courses in a variety of disciplines and provides opportunities for intensive study through its short study programme, MSc modules and postdoctoral studies.

The Centre for Disease Control  has been dedicated to protecting health and promoting quality of life through the prevention and control of disease, injury, and disability in the U.S. and worldwidefor over 60 years.

The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

The NIH is the U.S. national medical research agency—supporting scientific studies that turn discovery into health.